Quilts

In Random Formation for Project QUILTING

At the end of last year, I came across some posts on Facebook for Project Quilting. Not knowing what it was, I joined the group to discover there are quilting challenges with deadlines. I love a good challenge, so have been hanging around and participating when I have time. This is only the second challenge I’ve entered. Kim at Persimmon Dreams is the person behind the scenes of Project Quilting. You can find more info here, as I might not have all the info. We have a week to complete each challenge and link it up. This week is Challenge 14.6 – Conquer a Fear.

My fear is throwing away fabric and then needing it for a specific project later. That means I save way too many scraps that collect with not enough of them getting used. These tiny triangles are from a mini quilt I made called No Fear. I love the colors and couldn’t bring myself to throw them out. With some old burlap from stash, a piece of awful feeling fabric I meant to get rid of (used to back the burlap so batting wouldn’t show through), a piece of batting, my little triangles are finally gone from my room! And I have a fun new pillow cover.

These tiny triangles are from a mini quilt I made called No Fear, designed by Bee Sew Inspired. Here’s a picture of it.

I love the colors and couldn’t bring myself to throw them out. With some old burlap from stash, a piece of awful feeling fabric I meant to get rid of, a piece of batting, my little triangles are finally gone from my room! And I have a fun new pillow cover.

Burlap frays easily so it was necessary to serge the edges after cutting to size. My cover fits a 20” pillow form. The lines were drawn with a chalk wheel and after laying out the little triangles, I was wondering how they were going to stay in place until getting sewn down. I went with pins, but didn’t pin every one down so lots of them ended up falling off and had to be placed before sewing each row.

It turned out great (even if I say so myself)! Here’s the envelope back with my label.

Thanks for stopping by. See you next time!

4 thoughts on “In Random Formation for Project QUILTING

Leave a comment